Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS)

FPAS FSA and FSD are now mandatory in NSW


The Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) was formally approved by the Secretary of the Department of Customer Service under  section 59 of the Building and Development Certifiers Act 2018


This means that if you endorse plans and specifications for designs you must be Fire Systems Design (FSD) accredited, or if you endorse fire safety measures on annual or supplementary fire safety statements, you must be Fire Safety Assessment (FSA) accredited. 


Read more






Fire Protection Association Australia (FPA Australia) introduced FPAS for the benefit and sustainability of the fire protection industry and has committed to ensuring that all appropriately qualified practitioners are eligible for accreditation.


Available classes of FPAS Accreditation include:



Accreditation in the above classes is available for individuals, not companies.


We are currently working on other classes of accreditation, which will be introduced over time. 


FPAS is a key part of ongoing efforts by the fire protection industry to:  


  • increase professionalism;
  • deliver quality services by engaging a technically competent workforce; and
  • improve fire safety outcomes for the community. 



Individual Accreditation


Individuals accredited under FPAS must demonstrate competency to provide the services for which they are accredited.