New leadership for FPA Australia

Posted on : Friday, 26 November 2021

The 2021 AGM for FPA Australia is over and the Association has new leadership. 


After three years as President, and twelve years on the Board, Bill Lea has retired from his positions, as has fellow director Elissa Fazio, and the Association expressed its thanks to them for their service. 


Stepping into their director positions were the newly elected Mike Donegan  and Mark Potter, who participated in their first Board meeting following the AGM. 


The new Board elected Bob Grieve  to be the new President and Patrick Conway  as Vice-President, and moved to co-opt three additional directors -John Lynch and Stuart Yarnall, who continue their existing roles, and new appointee Yvonne Pengilly, a former Assistant Commissioner Technical and Board member at the Queensland Building and Construction Commission. 


With continuing directors Rob Broadhead and Russell Porteous, this means the new Board has nine directors. 


The Board is continuing the work of FPA Australia to improve engagement, increase activity, and raise the profile of the Association at a government level. 


To support this work, it was announced at the AGM that John Kilgour has been appointed to be FPA Australia's Chief Executive Officer. 


John is currently the CEO of the Civil Contractors Federation in Victoria, and will take over from Interim CEO Leigh Gesthuizen in February. 


We will publish a more detailed profile of John when he commences. 


FPA Australia congratulates Bob and Patrick for their elections and wishes success for all of the Board members. 


We look forward to working with them in the interests of our members, the fire protection industry, and a safer community.